This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.

Reviews

9.0 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
9.3
Comfort
8.9
Property location
9.4
Facilities
8.8
Staff
9.5
Value
8.2
Reviews
    edgroi
    tw
    9.2
    6 February 2018
    it is worth to stay at this hotel
    nil
    close to the old street, delicious food, good service and comfortable environment
    sg
    10
    23 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    giuliana
    au
    9.6
    22 January 2018
    Great!
    When we made the booking it was not clear that dinner was included in the package - there are so many great places in the area, we did not want to eat in our room each night. This should be made optional
    Wonderful location - by the river, with exceptional views. Just across the river was the old town - with much to do and see!
    Francis
    id
    7.5
    21 January 2018
    Pricey ryokan in a central location
    The onsens were all indoor. Tatami beds were quite thin. The hotel is quite old
    The location was perfect. The staffs were pleasant. The japanase and hida beef meal were good, though the seafood wasn’t impressive. Didn’t have space for the sushi dinner since they’re all booked out.
    hk
    7.5
    16 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Wilson
    ca
    9.6
    12 January 2018
    Everything is good except the breakfast.
    Poor breakfast
    Good and delicious dinner
    Kuna
    th
    9.2
    8 January 2018
    Fantastic!
    Food smell in the room left after dinner
    Attention to all details-the whole ryokan experience was so impressive. Staff are very attentive and polite. Kaiseki dinner is also very splendid.
    Caroline
    au
    9.2
    26 December 2017
    Wonderful location and a fabulous Japanese experience
    Our room for four people was very tight..
    Loved the traditional Japanese experience. The location was wonderful right on the river with a lovely view. Staff were great and the onsens relaxing. For women there is a lovely one attached to the hotel for guests in a traditional building. Food was delicious.
    ST18
    sg
    10
    26 December 2017
    Beautiful place. We love it there❤
    There's no place to open up luggages. We had a room for 4 pax. The room is big but Will be great if there is adjoining rooms in future. Overall, wonderful working staff in Honjin!
    Concierge, recep to all staff working there are all attentive to detail. One of the best hospitality service we've ever had. My family enjoyed the 3 nights stay thoroughly. We'll definitely come back here again.
    sg
    10
    24 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    sg
    9.6
    22 December 2017
    Fantastic and totally relaxing
    Nothing
    It is a bit tight for 5 of us. We were put in room 406.
    Goh
    sg
    10
    21 December 2017
    A most wonderful ryokan experience. Great Service from hotel to staff is fantastic
    The Hida Beef that came as part of the dinner wasn’t as good as we had expected or tasted during our lunch in a restaurant in the city.
    Very friendly staff. We were provided with very good service from the time we arrived at JR Takayama Station. The hotel staff, Aki Hiro waited patiently to fetch us from the station. At the hotel, the lady staff brought us to our room and welcome us with green tea and Japanese snacks. Dinner was served in the room and the serving staff was very nice and courteous and explained some of the dishes. Dinner was very good (although the Hida Beef could be better). Excellent service from all hotel staff.
    G
    hk
    10
    20 December 2017
    Excellent accommodation and service. The staff is nice and can speak English very well. The onsen is good, the traditional one is the best. I will definitely visit again.
    Chak Kuan
    sg
    10
    18 December 2017
    Highly recommend this hotel. Excellent location and sumptuous food
    - Staff speaks little English which makes communication rather challenging. - We had 5 persons in our room. Appeared a little too cramp.
    Great location which is near the morning market and old town. We had half board. Sumptuous breakfast and dinner. As there were 9 of us, they have specially arranged for our dinner served in their private room exclusively for our group. The hotel provides free transfers from the bus station. I would like to compliment a few staff. 1) Yoshi from Reservations was very attentive to our needs, giving suggestions to our queries. He even took upon himself to arrange for Isite for our Shirakawago Tour to come to the hotel to pick us instead of us going to meet at the bus station (we had 9 in the party). 2) Tsuyoshi at the Reception was very helpful. We had a last minute change of plan, wanting to leave for Kyoto early next morning but was not able to make any reservation as the bus company was closed after 6pm. Tsuyoshi got his colleague to check directly at the bus station the next morning while we have our breakfast and managed to help us reserve the bus tickets for 9.10am and he also helped to transfer us to the bus station timely. We were very thankful that the Hotel staff notified us of our wallet left in the room safe. They made the effort to contact us in the hotel at Kyoto and eventually arranged for the wallet to be delivered to us at our next destination in Osaka. Kudos to their honesty and efficiency.
    sg
    7.5
    18 December 2017
    Worth the stay.
    Food
    Free shuttle bus provided.
    John
    au
    7.1
    16 December 2017
    Relaxed, not comfortable.
    sg
    9.2
    12 December 2017
    The dinner at Alice restaurant was not as good as the Japanese dinner. We wanted to change back to Japanese dinner for second night but was told its not possible. The male onsen is small.
    The location was excellent. The Japanese dinner is very good. Hida beef serving is generous. The onsen relax kura for ladies is fantastic. The staffs are very nice. The manager was very profession and helped to arrange earlier breakfast for us.
    Sandy
    hk
    10
    7 December 2017
    Best experience in Japan! Highly recommend
    Nothing...
    Really like the services here. Full of personal touch and make our stay really enjoyable! Staff always wears a big smile particularly the lady called takaho. Food is great - fresh, and lots of choice (tailored to our dietary requirements!) - they let us try all the local Hida food. Dinner is served in the room course by course! (Except for sushi set). Onsen is great! Clean and with full set of toiletry for you to use! They also sent us back and forth the station with hotel car! Will definitely come back!
    sg
    10
    7 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Sebastianus
    au
    9.6
    4 December 2017
    Great stay, location, hotel, and staff
    Kaiseki wasn't as i expected but i probably set the bar too high. if you want to experience hida beef then i suggest you to dine out.
    Staff were super friendly and truly respect their customer. We had a personalised butler whom explained and prepare everthing for us though not really good in english. Old town was just around the corner and the view from our room was also really nice.
Loading reviews